Ann Peebles Straight From The Heart - All Analogue 180 Gram - Sealed U — website
Skip to content

Ann Peebles Straight From The Heart - All Analogue 180 Gram - Sealed UK Vinyl LP


New Arrival - In Stock

Notify me when back in stock

ANN PEEBLES Straight From The Heart (Speakers Corner limited edition 10-track LP, an all-analogue production from the original master tapes, pressed on 180-gram audiophile balck vinyl at Pallas, Germany. First released in 1972, this reissue faithfully reproduces the original cover artwork and labels. A lean, tough set that was not only a triumph for Peebles, but illustrated how the Hi label had surpassed its crosstown Stax rival for quality Memphis soul in the early '70s. The guitars are spare, funky, and bluesy, the horn section punchy, and the material far earthier and down-home than the increasingly formulaic grooves at Stax. [Allmusic]. Hype sticker & factory sealed. Recommended)

- Made from the original, analogue mastertapes
- Only the best mastering studios worldwide
- Pure analogue, audiophile mastering
- 180g virgin vinyl pressings from Pallas / Germany
- Faithful reproduction of original artwork and labels
- All licenses and mechanical rights paid

Ann Peebles' climb up the career ladder was rather more conventional than spectacular in the tough, rough days of rhythm and blues. She was first discovered when she appeared in Memphis nightclubs, was given a break by the big-band leader Gene 'Bowlegs' Miller, and landed her first top hit with the celebrated song "I Can't Stand The Rain." Towards the end of the '70s she made a well-timed retreat just before the outbreak of the highly commercialized disco wave, only to return many years later with a revival of her old songs.

This album from the early '70s has certainly not mellowed with age. Her singing is sharp and soulful, and comes right from the heart ("Slipped, Tripped And Fell In Love"). The beat is powerful, throbbing, young and fresh ("What You Laid On Me") or surging and groovy ("How Strong Is A Woman?"). The arrangements come across as sophisticated and well balanced, yet do not balk at harsh attacks from the winds nor from the use of Hammond and Hohner keyboards, which were so popular at that time. Melody, singers and big band are airy and finely interwoven ("Somebody's On Your Case"), while a fusion of soft swing and snappy acerbity ("I Pity The Fool") rounds off this album which is filled with pure emotion, heart and soul.

Side 1
1. Slipped, Tripped and Fell In Love
2. Trouble, Heartaches & Sadness
3. What You Laid On Me
4. How Strong Is A Woman
5. Somebody's On Your Case

Side 2
1. I Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home Tonight
2. I've Been There Before
3. I Pity The Fool
4. 99 Pounds
5. I Take What I Want

Artist - Ann Peebles (click link for complete listing)
Title - Straight From The Heart - All Analogue 180 Gram - Sealed (click link for more of the same title)
Year of Release - 2023
Format - vinyl LP album (LP record)
Record Label - Speakers Corner
Catalogue No - SHL32065
Country of Origin - United Kingdom
Language - Regardless of country of origin all tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Audiophile – This is an Audiophile item. Click link for similar items
Additional info - Sealed, Picture Sleeve
Barcode - 4260019714206
Condition - Factory sealed from new. This item is unplayed. Click here for more info. Ref No - AP4LPST808477

60s Female, 60s Pop, 70s Artists, Female Solo, Northern Soul, POP, Singer/Songwriter, Soul and r&b.

Availability - In Stock - Buy Now for shipping today
Postage/Shipping Cost - Add item to your basket for a postage/shipping quote. For further delivery info click here
Email - to contact our sales team.
To order by phone - Call (+44) 0147485010 quoting reference number AP4LPST808477

Got vinyl records, CDs or music memorabilia to sell? – Sell to us at our buying site

Page Code 103:101: